top of page
Writer's pictureShreyas Gangopadhyay

The Lost Star

When I was young, my parents asked me what I wanted to be in life. My answer was "I want to be a wrestler". Coming from a six-year-old Undertaker fan, it was not very unexpected. So my parents laughed it off.

When I was in 9th standard, my parents asked the same question again. This time they expected a more serious answer. So I expressed my desire to be an artist and to study arts. And my parents shunned it off, saying I should focus more on my science papers since I will be studying science in 10+2. They told me how difficult it was to pursue one's own passion. Their argument was backed by countless examples of how people struggled and ultimately failed or gave up. Needless to say, that the handful of names I could utter in my favour was outmatched by their constant attack. So like a king defeated in battle, I was sentenced to my fate.

After last year, countless parents like mine would add one more name to their list. Sushant Singh Rajput. His remarkable journey, from a small-town boy who dropped out of India's one of the best engineering colleges to become a well-known face in showbiz, was indeed inspirational. The portrayal of Mahendra Singh Dhoni in Neeraj Pandey's namesake 2016 blockbuster spoke all about his talent as an actor. But to me, the character that was most heart touching was Kai Po Che's Ishaan, a former district-level cricketer who wanted to set up an academy to help budding sportspersons.

Suddenly, one day, I woke in the morning, checked my phone to see the time, and my eyes were stuck on the news notification. It read " Sushant Singh Rajput dies by suicide at Bandra home;...". Now I would not go into the reasons for his actions. Controversy and complications are the last things I am looking for. All I want to say is Sushant represented all of us or at least our real selves. I guess at the day's end we all lost the fight.


Image Source: Google

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page