top of page
Srideep Banerjee

LIVING WITH MULTIPLE IDENTITIES

What if we are not the one as seen by the world? What if we are more than that or less? No one can really tell who we are.

Life is unpredictable and control is just an illusion. Sometimes, all that unpredictability is overwhelming and it makes us want to control our life even more. Certainly, the way we act and present ourselves in front of people is something that we control but sometimes we can not. What if the controlling is beyond our primal capacity?

People with dissociative identity disorder are often thought to have been possessed but in contrast to belief, the possessing entity is an alter. These alter like depicted in movies and stories not necessarily be violent, but always has the possibility to become one as a protective measure because dissociated identities are created as a result of violent trauma and abuse.

Being an engineering student for two years now, I am not quite used to medical diagnosis and terms and therapies, but as a human, I find psychology as the most interesting subject and the disorders, in particular, to be fascinating although I feel a great deal of sorry for the people going through the disorders.

I have been preoccupied with all the theories and studies of people with a dissociative identity disorder. Whatever it is I do, my mind keeps coming back to this. So I did decide to make a nonmedical series of pictorial representation of my thoughts about it.

Every picture has the touch of either multiple identities or the trauma of the individual. While working on this project, a thought kept lurking inside my head, it is more of a theory than a thought. What if we all have multiple identities? For a fact I can tell that I am not the same person while I am in my room alone and while I am on the streets or while I am at my university. What if we masked identities and be a person we are not? Isn’t it the same as having a dissociated identity?

THE PHOTOS ARE NAMED IN ORDER FOR VISUAL UNDERSTANDING OF CAUSE AND EFFECT.


ONE

TWO

THREE

FOUR

FIVE

SIX

SEVEN

EIGHT

NINE

TEN



44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Amazing! All these photographs depicted the inner meaning perfectly. Keep up the good work!

Like
bottom of page